COLUMBUS, Ohio (WTVN) -- The list of seven Columbus City Schools buildings initially recommended for closure or consolidation has been reduced to five. The Board of Education will consider the issue Tuesday.

Independence High School and Siebert Elementary would remain open under the final recommendation made to the board. 

Brookhaven High School would close along with Arlington and Maybury Elementary and Monroe Middle School. Fifth Avenue K-6 International School would be moved to the former Hubbard Elementary building.

Brookhaven High School has a capacity to house 1,145 students. However, of the 1,071 students in the Brookhaven attendance area, only 521 students are currently attending the school. Brookhaven’s enrollment has decreased by an average of 8.5% over the past three years.

District spokesman Jeff Warner says a committee considered several factors in crafting the final list, including hearing from parents, students, and staff at some of the schools on the list to be closed.

"There were a lot of points that were brought forward that helped us to hone our recommendations and to consider other factors that we may not have initially considered," he said.

Once the Board of Education takes action, the decisions are final.

One reason for the move is to help fill a $50 million projected budget shortfall for Columbus City Schools.

"This would help us to reduce our deficit as well as to right-size the district to ensure that we're using our buildings for the maximum possible use," said Warner.