The Basketball Tournament Field Announced

Today The Basketball Tournament announced the roster of teams that will be coming to Columbus, Ohio when the event tips off here  Friday, July 20 through Sunday, July 22.

They include a Rajon Rondo coached squad of overseas professionals with Louisville connections; a team of Cincinnati Bearcats alumi; team Big X, which features former Buckeyes JaeSean Tate, Kam Williams, Andrew Dakich; and--of course--team Scarlet and Gray

Scarlet and Gray made the national semifinal last year, and they return most of the players from that team. Coach Scoonie Penn told 105.7 The Zone that he does expect Jared Sullinger to rejoin them, although he's not listed as of now and has some scheduling issues to resolve since Sullinger is getting married this summer. 

Penn also announced an addition to the team in former Penn State guard Talor Battle. Penn said Battle will give them some necessary depth, adding that last year he felt they were a guard away from winning it all. 

"Aaron Craft gets in foul trouble, and we still should have won that game," he said. 

The prize for the team that does ultimately win the championship is $2 million dollars. Last year, Scarlet and Gray famously agreed to split any potential winnings evenly, and Penn intimated that was the idea this year, too, although that may be open to a little negotiation. 

"Let's just win it, and we'll deal with that when the time comes," he said.

The Columbus Sports Commission has provided a schedule for the games that will be played at Capital University. 

TBT Schedule

TBT Schedule

(Note: A Team playing in honor of men and women who had overcome addiction and that included former Ohio State wide receiver Jalin Marshall narrowly missed making the field, as did a team that was to be coached by former Ohio State assistant Jim Cleamons.)