Forming Their 2020 Vision

Today the Columbus Crew announced the following moves:

"Crew SC exercised the options of defenders Waylon Francis, Hector Jimenez and Jonathan Mensah; as well as midfielders Luis Argudo, Pedro Santos and Wil Trapp. Crew SC reached new contract agreements with goalkeeper Jon Kempin and defender Josh Williams, who will return to the Club in 2020.
"The Black & Gold simultaneously announced that they have declined the contract options of goalkeeperBen Lundgaard; defender Alex Crognale; and midfielders David Guzman, Edward Opoku and Eduardo Sosa. The Club is also currently in negotiations with out-of-contract defender Harrison Afful. Midfielders Ricardo Clark and Federico Higuain are out of contract. Decisions regarding options on defender Connor Maloney and forward Jordan Hamilton as well as on out-of-contract forward Romario Williams will be decided in November when roster decisions are due."

This is all happening as the team reshapes its roster and adjusts its playing style heading toward the 2020 season. To hear more about that evolution, listen here to team GM Tim Bezbatchenko and coach Caleb Porter.