Basketball Buckeyes Unveil Non-Conference Schedule

posted by Matt McCoy - 

The weekend of the Ohio State's home football game against Michigan State will be a big weekend for the basketball team. Sandwiched between the Nov. 11 Buckeye/Spartan game in Ohio Stadium, Chris Holtmann will be making his debut as OSU hoops coach in Value City Arena. The Buckeyes, who released their non-conference schedule, open Friday Nov. 10 vs. Robert Morris and play game two, at home on Sunday the 12th against Radford. Game times and TV coverage have not been announced.

Holtmann has said multiple times since being hired that he hopes to put together challenging non-conference schedules. This is a slate he is inheriting from Thad Matta. It is a schedule with difficult match-ups, but the slate of nine home games lacks sizzle. The most noteworthy home game is the Big 10/ACC challenge showdown with Clemson Nov. 29. 

Away from home--most specifically in two different tournaments, Ohio State will face major challenges. At the PK 80 Invitational (a Nike sponsored tournament) in Portland Oregon, the Buckeyes meet national runner-up Gonzaga on Thanksgiving Day, Nov. 23. The next day, they'll face either Florida or Stanford and will also, win or lose, have a game Sunday Nov. 26. 

Exactly one month after facing Gonzaga, the Buckeyes face defending national champion North Carolina in the CBS Sports Classic in New Orleans. The Big Ten schedule will be released at a later date. Here is Ohio State's full non-conference slate. 

Home games in bold.

Fri. Nov. 10 vs Robert Morris

Sun. Nov. 12 vs Radford

Thurs. Nov. 16 vs Texas Southern

Sun. Nov. 19 vs Northeastern

Thurs. Nov. 23 Gonzaga (PK 80 Invite--Portland) 

Fri. Nov. 24 Florida or Stanford (PK 80 Invite--Portland)

Sun. Nov. 26 TBA (PK 80 Invite--Portland)

Wed. Nov. 29 vs Clemson (Big 10/ACC Challenge)

Sat. Dec. 9 vs William & Mary

Sat. Dec. 16 vs Appalachian State

Tues. Dec. 19 vs The Citadel

Sat. Dec. 23 North Carolina (CBS Sports Classic, New Orleans)

Sat. Dec. 30 vs Miami

Matt McCoy's Sports Blog

Matt McCoy's Sports Blog

Want to know more about Matt McCoy's Sports Blog? Get their official bio, social pages & articles on News Radio 610 WTVN!

title

Content Goes Here