Buckeyes Name A Record Nine Captains

Urban Meyer has praised the veteran leadership on the 2017 Ohio State Buckeyes. Apparently he's not kidding. 

Ohio State announced team captains Monday and named a record nine players as the Buckeye leaders. The group is highlighted by the four that had already been named in the Spring. Quarterback J.T. Barrett makes some history as the first three-time captain in 128 years of Ohio State football. Additionally, center Billy Price and defensive end Tyquan Lewis return as second year captains and linebacker Chris Worley rounds out the leaders that had already been announced.


Of the five new captains, two--Parris Campbell and Terry McLaurin--are receivers and three--Sam Hubbard, Jalyn Holmes and Tracy Sprinkle--are defensive linemen. Sprinkle's journey to being a captain included last year's season ending knee injury suffered in the opener. On social media, Ohio State shared Sprinkle's special moment, as he and defensive line coach Larry Johnson called his parents to give them the good news. Check it out here.  

Matt McCoy's Sports Blog

Matt McCoy's Sports Blog

Want to know more about Matt McCoy's Sports Blog? Get their official bio, social pages & articles on News Radio 610 WTVN!


Content Goes Here