Happy Anniversary E.T.

The Basketball Buckeyes open Big Ten Tournament play on Thursday against Indiana in a game that may be an NCAA tournament play-in game. According to ESPN's latest "Bracketology", Ohio State is the last team in the NCAA field and Indiana is the first team out.

The pressure of tournament play often times produces great moments. One such moment occurred nine years ago. The pressure for the Buckeyes on March 12, 2010 was different than the pressure the current Buckeyes are under. The 2010 Ohio State team won a share of the regular season Big Ten Title. They were a tournament lock but were hoping for a Big Ten Tournament championship behind player of the year Evan Turner.

Michigan, however, seemed poised to upset the Buckeyes in the Big Ten Tournament quarterfinals. Behind a Manny Harris basket with 2.2 seconds left, the Wolverines led Ohio State 68-66. That's when Turner essentially clinched national player of the year honors and etched his name in Ohio State lore forever by calmly dribbling to mid-court, rising up and drilling a game-winning, tournament saving 3-pointer at the buzzer.

Ohio State would go on to beat Illinois in the tournament semi-finals and Minnesota in the title game to win the tournament championship. Happy Anniversary to the 2010 Buckeyes and to Evan Turner, who hit one of the most miraculous, biggest and clutch shots in Buckeye history. Posted below are the ESPN TV call...and my favorite... a view from the crowd. Additionally, the Big Ten Network, this week, did a quick feature on Evan Turner, naming him the best player in Big Ten Tournament history. That is posted below as well.