Matta Era Buckeyes Dominate Big Ten All Decade Team

Ohio State, known nationally as a football school, plays some pretty good hoops as well. The Big Ten Network this week unveiled its "All Decade Teams" and the Basketball Buckeyes had more players recognized than any other school. The 2010 National Player of the Year Evan Turner headlines the group. Turner on Wednesday, was selected as a first team pick.

Turner was joined on the All Decade first team by Michigan State's Draymond Green and Denzel Valentine, Michigan's Trey Burke and Wisconsin's Frank Kaminsky. Jared Sullinger, an All-American in each of his two seasons at Ohio State was named to the second team, with D'Angelo Russell and Aaron Craft both on the third team. Ohio State's four selections were one more than Michigan State and Purdue.

All of the Buckeyes selected played during the best of times in the Thad Matta era. Turner, Sullinger and Craft played on Big Ten regular season and tournament championship teams. All three were on teams that made the NCAA Sweet 16, with Sullinger and Craft playing in the Final Four in 2012. Russell had one single spectacular year at Ohio State, winning Big Ten Freshman of the Year in 2015. Like Turner, Russell wound up being the No.2 pick in the NBA draft. He was a part of Matta's last NCAA tournament team and was on the squad that delivered the victory that made Matta Ohio State's all-time winningest coach.

Below are some highlight reels of Turner, Sullinger, Russell and Craft. It's a nice trip down memory lane of a special era of Buckeye Basketball.