Ohio State Dominates All Decade Team

Ohio State dominated the Big Ten the last decade so it's not surprising that when all was said and done with the Big Ten's "All Decade team," the Buckeyes dominated it as well. Overall, 16 Ohio State players were named to either the first or second All Decade teams, and Urban Meyer, who went 83-9 at Ohio State, won three Big Ten titles and a national championship, was coach of the decade. Of the 16 Ohio State players selected, seven were first teamers, including J.T. Barrett, who beat out teammate Dwayne Haskins for first team quarterback honors.

It could be argued that another Ohio State quarterback was more worthy than both Barrett and Haskins. Braxon Miller was the Big Ten MVP in back-to-back years at quarterback, but moved to receiver after his shoulder injury put Barrett in charge. Miller was not forgotten, named to the first team as an all-purpose player.

The choice of Meyer was the most obvious. He took over a program that had great success under Jim Tressel but was in disarray after the 'tattoo-gate' scandal that cost Tressel his job and resulted in a bowl ban in Meyer's first year. That 2012 team would go 12-0, a remarkable turnaround from the 6-7 team coached by Luke Fickell in 2011 after Tressel's resignation. That was the springboard for Meyer's dominant seven year run. He went 57-5 against Big Ten teams (54-4 in the regular season) and was a perfect 7-0 against arch-rival Michigan. In other words, Meyer lost two fewer conference games total in his seven years than Michigan lost, just to Ohio State. Despite all those impressive numbers, Meyer was never coach of the year--but--was rightfully the winner of the BTN coach of the decade honor.

Ohio State's 16 'All Decade' selections were easily the most in the conference. Wisconsin was second with nine (4 first team, 5 recond team) followed by Iowa with eight (4 and 4) and Michigan with six (4 and 2.) You can check out the complete first and second teams below.