What A Way To Lose A Major

The first major of the LPGA season was won by So Yeon Ryu. She beat Lexi Thompson in a playoff that never would have happened were it not for a TV viewer who changed the complexion--and the outcome of the tournament. 

Thompson seemed to be headed to victory. She led by two shots through 12 holes of the final round. That's when rules officials gave her the bad news. She was not leading by two--but rather trailing by two. Thompson was accessed a 4-shot penalty for an incident during Saturday's third round. On the 17th hole, Thompson marked her ball--but then replaced it in the wrong spot. It was a matter of inches--but--it was noticeable to a viewer watching the 2017 ANA Inspiration on NBC. That viewer e-mailed the LPGA, who looked into the matter, and accessed the penalty--2 shots for replacing the ball incorrectly and two more for signing an inaccurate score card. 

Thompson responded with three straight birdies and forced the playoff--but lost on the first extra hole. Golfers and fans reacted to the penalty---enforced nearly 24 hours after the infraction occurred--mostly with anger and disbelief. 

Below you can see Thompson's infraction, her reaction when told of the penalty, her post-tournament interview--and some of the reaction from golfers and fans after the LPGA made its ruling.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

title

Content Goes Here