Governor Requests Presidential Disaster Declaration for Tornado Damage


WASHINGTON, DC (WTVN)--Governor Mike DeWine has submitted a formal request to President Donald Trump to have ten Ohio counties declared Presidential Disaster areas, following the tornado outbreak on May 27th and 28th.

The submission received support from both Senators Rob Portman and Sherrod Brown. Hundreds of homes were damaged or destroyed in the outbreak, which spawned at least 20 tornadoes, according to the National Weather Service.

Many of the counties in the request are in western Ohio, but it includes Muskingum, Pickaway, and Hocking Counties.

At least two tornadoes were confirmed in Pickaway and Hocking counties from the outbreak. The most powerful storms from that system struck Beavercreek, Trotwood, and Celina.

One person died as a result of the storms.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content