Ryan Day Named Big Ten Coach of The Year

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WTVN)--For the first time in 40 years, the Ohio State Football Coach has been named Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year.

Ryan Day was given the honor Tuesday by the conference's media, for leading the team to an undefeated regular season in his first full year as coach.

The last time a Buckeye football coach received the honor was Earle Bruce in 1979.

Since then, Ohio State has won 16 Big Ten Conference Championships, and two National Championships, in 2002 and 2014.

The conference coach of the year in 2002 was Iowa's Kirk Ferentz. In 2014, it was Minnesota's Jerry Kill.

John Cooper, Jim Tressel, and Urban Meyer never won Conference Coach of the Year while at Ohio State.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content