Eastern Ohio Border Counties Can Only Sell Liquor to Ohio Residents

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WTVN)--Governor Mike DeWine has issued an order that liquor stores in six eastern Ohio counties can only sell alcohol to Ohio residents during the COVID-19 pandemic.

DeWine says the stores in Jefferson, Belmont, Ashtabula, Trumbull, Mahoning, and Columbiana counties will require a valid Ohio-issued ID to complete a sale.

DeWine sales local sheriffs have seen an influx of residents from Pennsylvania crossing the border to Ohio to buy booze, since the liquor stores in Pennsylvania were shut down during the pandemic.

DeWine says it's a dangerous situation to have those from out-of-state venture into Ohio, since they can unknowingly spread the coronavirus.

The order was signed Monday by Dr. Amy Acton, Director of the Ohio Department of Health.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content