Local Congressional Incumbents Win Primary Elections


COLUMBUS, Ohio (WTVN)--Ohio's primary election for 2020 was conducted by all-absentee balloting, with Tuesday the deadline to return those ballots.

The main issue on the ballot across the state was the Democrat Presidential primary, easily won by former Vice-President Joe Biden.

Central Ohio's congressional incumbents also won their party primaries on Tuesday, including Joyce Beatty, Jim Jordan, Steve Stivers, and Troy Balderson.

Shannon Freshour won the Democrat primary in Ohio's 4th District, to challenge GOP incumbent Jordan.

The Democrat primary in Ohio's 12th district was won by businesswoman Alaina Shearer, who is also a former News Anchor at 610-WTVN.

Shearer will take on Balderson in the general election, with Balderson previously fending off two strong Democrat challenges in 2018, in a special election and the general election that year.

Congresswoman Joyce Beatty beat a challenge from Morgan Harper in the Democrat race for the 3rd District. Republican Mark Richardson will challenge Beatty in the district that leans heavily Democrat.

Aaron Paul Godfrey won the Democrat primary in Ohio's 15th District, and will take on Steve Stivers in November.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content