Masks Now Mandatory in Public In Franklin County


COLUMBUS, Ohio (WTVN)--Franklin County is now one of seven counties in Ohio where a mask is now required for those going out in public.

Governor Mike DeWine issued the order Tuesday for counties under a new "level 3" advisory for the spread of coronavirus, where there is very high exposure.

The order went into effect at 6pm Wednesday, and remains in effect until the county is no longer under a "level 3" distinction.

Under the advisory, people will need to wear a mask:

-when they are in any indoor location that is not a residence;

-when they are outdoors and unable to consistently maintain a distance of six feet or more from individuals who are not members of their household; or when they are waiting for, riding, driving, or operating public transportation, a taxi, a private care service, or a ride-sharing vehicle.

The order does not apply to children under the age of 10, or any other child that can not safely wear a face covering.

Along with Franklin County, Trumbull, Huron, Butler, Montgomery, Hamilton, and Cuyahoga Counties are also under similar orders. Those counties are also under a "level 3" alert.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content