Three More Central Ohio Counties Added to Level 3 Emergency

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WTVN)--Ohio Governor Mike DeWine added three more counties in central Ohio to the Level 3 "red" emergency distinction for the coronavirus outbreak, prompting mandatory mask requirements in those counties, beginning Friday.

DeWine added Licking, Delaware, and Union counties to the list, citing recent spikes in cases of coronavirus in those counties in the last two weeks.

DeWine says Delaware County has had 233 cases over that time, which he says more than the entire country of Ireland had over the same time frame.

He says Licking County saw 3/4 of new cases occur from outside congregate settings.

Mandatory mask orders for Licking, Delaware, and Union counties begin at 6PM Friday. Franklin, Pickaway, and Fairfield counties remain under the level 3 alert, which also includes mandatory mask orders in public.

As for other parts of Ohio, Scioto and Athens counties were also added to the level 3 alert, with DeWine noting that Athens County is in danger of going to a "purple" emergency.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content