Mayor Names Members of Police Civilian Review Board

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WTVN)--Columbus Mayor Andrew Ginther has named nine people to be initial members of the city's Police Civilian Review Board.

The group was chosen after an application process, and include:

  • Mark Fluharety--Executive Director, Central Ohio Labor Council
  • Dr. Chenelle Jones--Assistant Dean/Chair of Public Safety Programs, Franklin University, member of Columbus Community Safety, Advisory Commission
  • Willard McIntosh--retired Columbus Police officer
  • Pastor Rich Nathan--Vineyard Columbus
  • Kyle Strickland--attorney, The Ohio State University Roosevelt Institute
  • Randall Sistrunk--Director of Business Development, Orange Barrel Media, member of Chief's Advisory Panel
  • Rev. Charles Tatum--Good Shepherd Baptist Church
  • Mary Younger--former Franklin County Public Defender
  • Janet Jackson--former city attorney and Franklin County Municipal Judge, chair of Columbus Community Safety Advisory Commission.

Ginther named Jackson the chair of the Commission. The next step is to find an Inspector General for the department, who will present cases to the board for review.

The Mayor says the board was created through a voter ballot initiative, that was passed in November, to help the relationship between the police department and the community.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content