Nine Finalists Named to be Next Columbus Police Chief

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WTVN)--Columbus Mayor Andrew Ginther's office has released a list of nine candidates that will get a final interview to be the next Chief of the Columbus Division of Police.

The list includes one previous candidate for the job, before Thomas Quinlan was named Chief in 2019. Ginther later asked Quinlan to step down from the position.

Ginther also previously indicated the new chief will come outside the current CPD ranks, in order to implement changes he says are needed in the department.

The list of finalists for the job:

  • Elaine Bryant - Detroit Police Deputy Chief
  • Robert Clark - Former FBI Assist. Special Agent in Charge LA Field office
  • Derrick Diggs - Fort Myers Police Chief, former Toledo Police Chief
  • Avery Moore - Assistant Dallas Police Chief
  • Bryan Norwood - Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority, Alexandria VA VP of Public Safety, Former Richmond VA police chief
  • Ivonne Roman - Co-founder of 30X30 Initiative
  • Joseph Sullivan - Deputy Commissioner Philadelphia police dept.
  • Perry Tarrant - Former Assistant Chief, Seattle PD
  • David Taylor - G4S Security Arlington, VA

Tarrant is a previous finalist for the position. Michael Woods has been serving as Interim Chief since Quinlan's demotion.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content