20 Columbus City School Buildings to Start Academic Year Remotely

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WTVN)--The new school year in the Columbus City School district begins on Thursday, August 26th, but students and teachers at over a dozen buildings will start the new year on remote learning.

The district Tuesday announced that 20 buildings will be on remote learning for Thursday, August 26th and Friday, August 27th. The weather forecast for the rest of the week includes temperatures in the 90's, and heat indices around 100. The buildings listed lack adequate air conditioning.

The district listed the schools affected:

  • Columbus Alternative High School
  • Eastmoor Academy
  • Whetstone High School
  • Arts Impact Middle School
  • Columbus City Prep School for Boys
  • Johnson Park Middle School
  • Mifflin Middle School
  • Westmoor Middle School
  • Yorktown Middle School
  • Broadleigh Elementary
  • Columbus Gifted Academy
  • Como Elementary
  • Fairwood Elementary
  • Hubbard Elementary
  • Maize Elementary
  • North Linden Elementary
  • Siebert Elementary
  • Valleyview Elementary
  • West Broad Elementary
  • Westgate Elementary

The district anticipates the buildings to be open for in-person learning by Monday, August 30th, but weather conditions will be monitored over the weekend.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content